Short Story Long

Short Story Long

"With a talent for crafting infectious hooks and incorporating attention-grabbing production... the true definition of synth-pop... 12 tracks of guilty pleasure yet meaningful pop that highlight intriguing vocal performances and an ear for catchy, radio friendly tunes."
- Luis Gonzalez, Album Confessions/EQ Music

"A great collection of ElectroPop elixirs, eager to fix what ever is ailing you. Darren’s music has a real sparkle to it... The album is all about emotional release, from new love to moving on. There is much joy, a lot of love, and so much heart to be shared in the music, it is simply irresistible."
- Howard Trump, Soundtrack to my Day

Short Story Long (Poptastik Records), the second full-length studio album from British born synth-pop artist Darren Ockert.  This critically-acclaimed effort features This Modern Life (1984), which took home the award for Best Electronic Song in the 2012 RightOutTV Music & Video Awards. It also includes Force of Gravity, which was a finalist in the 2012 UK Songwriting Contest.

The album of twelve tracks showcases Darren’s distinct synth-pop sound.  “I wanted to take more of a risk vocally and lyrically with this record, while still being true to my synth-pop obsession,” says Darren, who also produced the album.  Since relocating from New York City to the vibrant tropical city of Miami, Darren has called upon the Miami-based-Colombian producer and DJ Daniel Valencia for additional production,  and had this to say about the collaboration, “I’ve always been a bit of a loner in the studio, so working with Daniel with his DJ background really opened me up to new musical ideas.”

You Don’t Know Me, the first single from the album, with its sparkly crisp production and catchy, uplifting melodies launched Darren’s #YouDontKnowMe Project.  The #YouDontKnowMe Project is an interactive forum inviting people to post videos sharing personal stories of overcoming prejudices. Darren hopes that this project can help to destroy stereotypes and help people realize that we are more alike than we are different.  Lyrically, this song as well as other tracks on the album such as Don’t Let The Bastards Get You Down, focus on the pains of being misunderstood or unfairly judged and the struggles of warding off bullies and haters, who are driven by ignorance and false assumptions. The video for You Don’t Know Me premiered on MTV Networks LOGO TV’s New Now Next show.

Crumbs, the second single from the album, premiered on VEVO on September 20, 2013 and shows a darker side of the artist, shot as a film-noir style story of two love-entangled couples.  Earlier this year fans got a sneak-peek of Crumbs in “Darren Ockert: A Mini Documentary,” a short film by director Hector M. Sanchez Jr. shot while Darren was in the studio recording Short Story Long. The documentary is playing at film festivals across the USA and won Best Short Film at the Enzian Film Festival.


  1. You Don’t Know Me | lyrics | music video
  2. Can’t Think Straight | lyrics
  3. Force Of Gravity | lyrics
  4. Not Your Boyfriend | lyrics
  5. Back For More | lyrics
  6. Running Out Of Love | lyrics
  7. Don’t Let The Bastards Get You Down | lyrics
  8. This Modern Life (1984) | lyrics
  9. Crumbs | lyrics | music video
  10. Center Of Attention | lyrics
  11. Everybody’s Lonely | lyrics
  12. I’ve Moved On | lyrics